Most clinic owners think that in order to grow their clinic you have to do hundreds of different things.
But that’s just not true.
There are only 3 things you need to focus on to double, triple, and even quadruple your clinic in a relatively short amount of time.
And that’s what I’m going to share with you in this blog post.
If you prefer to watch a video, you can learn my 3 clinic growth ideas that made me millions here instead. If not, continue reading below.
You see, at one point I was spending $150,000 per month on Facebook and Google.
The problem I had was, I was spending all this money on marketing but my clinician’s schedules were still empty.
I got a lot of people coming to my website but I wasn't converting them into new patients. I had huge kinks in my New Patient Journey.
If you’ve been following me for any length of time you know the New Patient Journey.
For those who don’t here it is:
The New Patient Journey
Traffic - they come to my website.
Phone - they book an appt.
Graduation - they complete their plan of care.
Online Reviews - turn them into a 5 star Google review.
This is how you generate word-of-mouth referrals. You have to get them to graduate from their plan of care and they will give you more word of mouth referrals. As well as 5-star google reviews.
The 2nd problem I had was, my phones were ringing but I was only answering 70% of the phone calls. That means I was missing out on 300 calls per month.
So I thought why am I spending so much on marketing when I’m only answering 70% of calls?
The way you should look at it is, every one of these phone calls you don't book or answer you're losing $1000. Because the average lifetime value of a patient is $500- $1200 depending on where you live.
Never Miss a Call, Even on Sick Days or Staff Turnover.
CallHero’s Virtual Receptionist are fully trained to convert callers directly into your software
Even if you answer but don't book, you're dropping $1,000.
The 3rd problem. I had no way to train my front desk on how to convert callers into patients on the phones.
So for every 10 patient opportunities that called only 6 would book.
So I thought what if I could get 8 of 10 bookings. That's an extra $2,000 from the same number of calls
just by boosting my booking rate from 60% to 80%.
It’s actually very easy to do when you use proven phones scripts.
The same problem was happening with a client we took on.
We analyzed their call tracking metrics and discovered a huge bottleneck in their new patient journey.
As you see in the image above they spent $183.31 on Google ads and got 12 phone calls.
So their cost per phone call was $15.28 which is great.
But there was a huge problem. They only answered 10% of them and booked 2. So their cost per new patient was $91.66!
They were wasting their hard-earned marketing money. I see this all the time, clinics spend $1,000s on marketing but they are only answering 70% and booking 60%.
They are spending all this money on advertising before making sure their front desk is generating the maximum amount of patients from the calls they’re already getting. If not, you’re just throwing a big portion of your marketing money out the window. Also, these callers could be word of month, SEO you’re investing in, etc.
Now that patients have more options for care than ever before your front desk has to be trained in sales.
You could have the best clinic marketing agency in the world working for you but if your front desk isn’t trained in sales it won’t matter.
You see, marketing is all about getting people to call you or enter their email.
Sales are all about converting the caller or email into an appointment. You have to have both firings on all cylinders. Most clinic owners just focus on marketing.
So how does a clinic measure its marketing and sales performance?
It all starts with your Call Funnel.
I want to know how many phone calls I'm getting per day and how much it costs me to get a phone call.
If I spend money on doctor referral pads. How many calls did I get from it and how much did it cost me.
It same if I did a community event.
This is how we measure marketing.
Now how do we measure our sales team (a.k.a front desk)?
There are 2 key phone metrics to measure.
If I give you each week 100 calls. How many are you answering and how many are you booking.
Beat Your Competitors With Every Call
Discover your front desk’s strengths and areas for improvement with our Mystery Caller Audit
So if your front desk is not answering at least 95% of calls and booking 80%. You shouldn’t be spending more on marketing until you fix that.
For example, let's say your front desk receives 1000 phone calls per month but only answers 70%. That means you’re missing 300 calls.
How many of those are new patient opportunities?
On average 15% are new patient opportunities. If you’re a new clinic that number will be more.
So that means you’re missing at least 45 patient opportunity calls.
So we need to fix that before spending more on marketing.
Here’s the easiest way I know of to convert more calls into appointments
For every missed call you get or they say
“I’ll call you back”
You want to call them back within 24 hours with a proven phone script.
You can get this time-tested script as well as the 4-minute training I did for FREE here. This 21-word phone script wins back 40% of callers who say I’ll call you back or don’t leave a voicemail.Click here to get it now
1. What should my cost per call be at my clinic?
If your marketing agency isn’t getting you phone calls for $30 or less you should fire them.
2. What is a good answer and booking rate I should shoot for?
You should be answering 95% of phone calls and booking 80-85%.
3. How do I track my answer and booking rate without doing it manually?
You can use a call tracking software like Call Hero. They will give you what’s called call tracking numbers. These are fake numbers that you place in your Facebook ad, website, doctor pad, google ads, etc. When someone calls it, they are automatically forwarded instantly to your real number. This allows the call tracking software if you use Call hero to track answer rate, booking rate, what your return on investment is for a specific campaign, how much it costs you to get a phone call, and how much it costs you to book an appointment. Plus much more.
Who is Rick Lau and CallHero?
Rick has built three 10 million dollar healthcare businesses over the past 15 years including a network of 127 clinics with over 1400 employees. He is one of the most sought-after mentors for clinic owners in Canada and USA where he helps owners double, triple, and even quadruple their profits by optimizing their clinic operations using his proven systems and leadership strategies. Plus, he has spent over millions in google and facebook ads during his career.
You can follow him on Instagram